1

10A NCAC 13P .0512 is proposed for amendment as follows:

2

3 10A NCAC 13P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED EMS CREDENTIAL

4 (a) EMS personnel enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing education program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this

5 Subchapter and who were eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to expiration, may request the EMS

- 6 educational institution submit documentation of the continuing education record to the OEMS. OEMS shall renew the
- 7 EMS credential to be valid for four years from the previous expiration date.

(b) An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is eligible for reinstatement through the legal
 recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section.

- (c) EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 36 months,
 11 12 months, shall:
- 12 (1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c);
- (2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; provider or
 employed with an alternative practice setting in compliance with Rule .0506 of this Section;
- at the time of application, present evidence that renewal education requirements were met prior to
 expiration or complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following expiration of
 the credential;
- (4) complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individual's level of credential
 application;
- 20 (5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and OEMS as defined in Rule .0511 of
 21 <u>this Section; and</u>
- (6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or
 felony conviction(s).
- (d) EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 36
 months, 12 months shall:
- 26 (1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and
- 27 (2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section.
- 28 (2) be a resident of North Carolina, affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider, or employed with
 29 an alternative practice setting in compliance with Rule .0506 of this Section;
- 30 (3) at the time of application, complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following
 31 expiration of the credential;
- 32 (4) complete an OEMS administered written examination for the level of credential application;
- 33 (5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS as defined in Rule .0511 of this Section;
 34 and
- 35 (6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or
 36 felony conviction(s).

1	(e) EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor Credential, lapsed up to 12	
2	months, shall:	
3	(1)	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c);
4	(2)	be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; and
5	(3)	at the time of application, present evidence that renewal requirements were met prior to expiration
6		or within six months following the expiration of the Instructor credential.
7	(f) EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor credential, lapsed greater than 12	
8	months, shall:	
9	(1)	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and
10	(2)	meet the requirements for initial Instructor credentialing set forth in Rules .0507 and .0508 of this
11		Section. Degree requirements that were not applicable to EMS Instructors initially credentialed prior
12		to July 1, 2021 shall be required for reinstatement of a lapsed credential.
13	(g) EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in	
14	Rule .0502 of this Section.	
15	(h) Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue or renew an EMS credential for any person listed	
16	on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense	
17	that would have required registration if committed at a time when registration would have been required by law.	
18		
19	History Note:	Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952;
20		Eff. January 1, 2017;
21		Amended Eff. <u>April 1, 2024;</u> July 1, 2021.